

SNO-FOO 2019 – Alexandre Roy

The 2019 Sno-Foo award is presented to Dr. Alexandre Roy, Professor in the Département des sciences de l'environnement at the Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières. Alex wins the award while serving as the Past President of the Eastern Snow Conference.

After being "blind-sided" by Alex Roy in the 2018 Sno-Foo nomination regarding a Ford F150 door incident during winter fieldwork in New Hampshire, the record needed to be set straight at ESC 2019. In fact, some details omitted from the 2018 nomination, were sufficient for a proper nomination for Alex Roy. Those details are as follows: when an esteemed colleague called from the cabin door to ask if either Alex had the cabin keys, Alex Langlois opened the vehicle door to answer the question. Meanwhile and presumably aware that Alex L. had opened the vehicle door and was in the process of answering the question, Alex R. put the vehicle into reverse, the results of which are documented in the 2018 ESC Proceedings. Why did he reverse? Perhaps we will never know. Alex L. believed that opening the vehicle door should have been an obvious sign of "do not back up, wait". Apparently, Alex R. needed more detailed instructions. Apparently, the truck door was not as flexible as the retelling of history.

To make matters worse, it was discovered in 2019 that the engraving of the Sno-Foo Award trophy had not been completed recently. Traditionally, it is the responsibility of each year's winner to engrave their own name on it, but it is also the responsibility of the ESC President to remind the winner to do so. For failing to properly maintain the coveted Sno-Foo Award trophy and his role in the New Hampshire truck-gate, Alexandre Roy is a fitting winner.

Presented by Alexandre Langlois

Past Recipients

Year	Winner	Affiliation
2019	Alexandre Roy	Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
2018	Alexandre Langlois	Université de Sherbrooke
2017	Michael Durand	The Ohio State University
2016	Roger De Roo	University of Michigan
2015	Kevin Côté	Université de Sherbrooke
2014	Dorothy Hall	NASA GSFC
2013	Benoit Montpetit	Université de Sherbrooke
2012	Don Pierson	NYC DEP
2011	Ken Rancourt	Mt. Washington Observatory
2010	Kyung-Kuk (Kevin) Kang	University of Waterloo
2009	Rob Hellström	Bridgewater State University
2008	Steven Fassnacht	Colorado State University
2007	The Group of 9 ¹	
2006	Andrew Klein	Texas A&M University
2005	Claude Duguay	University of Alaska-Fairbanks
2004	Chris Derksen	Meteorological Service of Canada
2003	Miles Ecclestone	Trent University
2002	Danny Marks	U.S.D.A.
2001	Brenda Toth	University of Saskatchewan
2000	Mauri Pelto	Nichols College
1999	Ross Brown	Meteorological Service of Canada
1998	Mary Albert	CRREL
1997	Jean Stein	Université de Laval
1996	Colin Taylor	Trent University
1995	Mike Demuth	NHRI
1994	Bert Davis	CRREL
1993	John Pomeroy	NHRI
1992	Tom Niziol	National Weather Service
1991	Terry Prowse	NHRI
1990	Kersi Davar	University of New Brunswick
1989	Gerry Jones	INRS-EAU
1988	Robert Sykes	SUNY
1987	John Metcalfe	Meteorological Service of Canada
1986	Peter Adams	Trent University
1985	Don Wiesnet	National Weather Service
1984	Barry Goodison	Meteorological Service of Canada

The Eastern Snow Conference annually bestows upon a distinguished snow scientist who, in striving for excellence in snow research, contributes to an event of notable humor the highly coveted Sno-Foo Award.

¹ Jimmy MacDonald (University of Saskatchewan), Bill Floyd (University of British Columbia), Chris DeBeer (University of Saskatchewan), Wendell Koning (Government of Alberta), Jaime Hood (University of Calgary), Danika Muir (University of Calgary), John Jackson (University of Calgary), Sarah Forte (University of Calgary), Masaki Hayashi (University of Calgary)